Posted by: 347bennetrd | January 30, 2011

Counting Sheep (but not while trying to sleep)

Here I am, deep in concentration, trying to count about 900 ewe lambs as they go past me. One hand is kind of clenched nervously while the other is unconsciously doing the two-by-two thing.

As you can imagine, there’s quite an art to counting sheep (one I am a long way from mastering).  Luckily this mob had already been counted, it was just Dad giving me some much-needed practice.  There are a number of different ways of counting – Dad counts in twos and cos he does, then so do I.   Another friend counts in 3s – for every 3 sheep that go by he counts 1 and when he gets to 33 he knows he’s got 99 sheep.  Or some count in 5s.

Anyhoo, you’d be surprised how difficult it can be to count to 100 in 2s as you’re keeping an eye for sneaky sheepies scooting past.  I’ll go up through the 20s – 22, 24, 26, 28 and as I get to 30 all of a sudden my mind becomes a blank and I can’t remember if I’m at 30 or was it 20?!  After a year I actually haven’t improved all that much, but I’m much better at counting cows than I used to be.

Their heads and shoulders seem to merge together and you can’t figure out if there are 1 or 2…  Far fewer numbers though so its not the problem of counting to 900 without losing it.  I never have been very good at maths.

Leave a Reply

Categories

