Posted by: 347bennetrd | February 1, 2011

The Grain Auger

In April last year (ooh look how I’m trying desperately to get all my posts done before I finish my year…) we ran out of grain in the silo.  Remember how I fed out grain to the deer? In order to fill the big green silo there needs to be a grain auger that carries the grain up and into the hole at the top.  Well here it is;

Far out what a beautiful day.  Just as an aside, I can tell you that I’m going to miss the weather when I move back to Wellington in a week’s time…

So anyway, the grain is doing its thing – the tractor power take off shaft is whizzing round and powering the auger.  They’re kind of dangerous those things, can rip yer arm off apparently.

Here’s the back of the tractor.  The take off shaft thingy is obscured by the T attachment that we use to pull the silage wagon. At the top you can see round kind of cover flap things – that’s where you plug your hydraulic hoses into.

There are so many mechanic things to learn being on the farm.  Some of them I’ve mastered, others I kind of got the hang of, but now that it’s 6 months since I last did it, I’ve forgotten.  Some take more strength than I’ve got.  Most get me really frustrated and wound up.  I really should do another year just to make the most of all the skills I’ve struggled to learn!

Responses

  1. Well hello Jo.

    I bet you never expected to see me here!
    I was going through my diary from last year and came across your web address so thought I would pop in and have a look at it.
    I have to say that I’m very impressed with it! You have certainly covered the year in detail and have got some cracker photos (is that why the jobs I gave you always took a bit longer then I expected!). I hope the rest of the year went well for you and congratulations on sticking it out and seeing it through (even if I was a bit mean)!
    All the best for your year ahead and hope all goes well for you.

    Cheers Marty

    • Hey there!
      Yep I’m absolutely stoked I made it through a year! I finally ended up enjoying about the last 6 weeks – had acquired enough skills which meant I could do jobs without taking 5 hours, without shouting myself hoarse, without resorting to tears and without stamping both feet with frustration. It would have been perfect to do another year!
      Hope things are going well for you and Charlotte – say a big hello to her for me.
      Jo


Leave a Reply

Categories

